We’re lucky to live in such an amazing area! We have a rich history, are surrounded by greenfields and greenbelt with a strong community spirit. Find out more about our past, present and future
Place name evidence suggests the village existed before the Norman conquest. The first recorded evidence of Clifton is in the Domesday Book of 1086.
Local historian Margaret Sharp’s ‘Clifton Village Timeline’ explains Clifton comes from the Anglo-Saxon word ‘Clif’ or ‘Clyff’ (a steep hill) and ‘ton’ (a settlement)
The Cistercian Priory of Kirkless, founded by then Lord of the Manor Reiner le Fleming (before 1240). The nunnery comprised serveral buildings, some of which still survive.
Kirklees Priory was surrended (in 1539) to the Crown as part of King Henry VIII’s Policy of Suppression. The remaining nuns were granted annual pensions and occupied the former Priory guesthouse
John Ogilby’s ‘Britannia’ was the world’s first road atlas, published in 1675.
Clifton is shown on the route from York to West Chester
From Woolrow to Thornhills, Vine Farm to Towngate and on to Deep Lane Farm, farming was the way of life for generations
We have a village school, two churches, two pubs, a riding school and hair-dressers.
At the centre of the community is the Clifton Village Community Association
Our play-park team continues to co-ordinate work to raise funds towards the renovation and update of the village park.
We’re grateful for generous support from the village, Calderdale Council plus corporate and individual supporters, we’ll be publishing more on this soon!
Look out for updates in the Clifton News section